HomeSportsT20 World Cup Squad: BCCI Source Confirms 10 Players, Including Virat Kohli...

T20 World Cup Squad: BCCI Source Confirms 10 Players, Including Virat Kohli and Hardik Pandya, Will be Chosen for India’s T20 World Cup Squad

T20 World Cup Squad: Ten players are guaranteed to be part of India’s squad for the T20 World Cup in the USA and West Indies, regardless of their IPL performance.

India’s T20 World Cup squad has not yet been finalized. There will be debates over the opening batsman, two wicketkeepers, a backup spinner, and a power hitter in the middle order. Apart from IPL and recent international performance, the team management’s needs for the playing conditions in the West Indies and USA may influence the final selection of the 15 players.

However, 10 players are going to be on the squad. They are certain to be on the flight to the USA in June this year. A BCCI source has shared information with the news agency PTI about the players who are certain to be selected for the T20 World Cup.

Captain Rohit Sharma, head coach Rahul Dravid, and chief selector Ajit Agarkar recently discussed Hardik Pandya’s bowling during a meeting in Mumbai. However, the PTI report mentioned that there is no immediate question about Hardik’s selection. The team will watch his bowling closely during IPL 2024, but he remains the country’s top fast-bowling all-rounder by far.

Much like Hardik Pandya, Virat Kohli’s selection for the T20 World Cup is considered certain. On Wednesday, a report suggested that Kohli might open the batting with Rohit Sharma in the T20 World Cup, allowing India to use a power hitter in the middle overs. Kohli is currently the top run-scorer in IPL 2024 and has been opening the batting for the Royal Challengers Bengaluru in recent seasons.

Kohli is experienced in opening the batting in T20 internationals (T20Is). In 9 innings as an opener in T20Is, he has scored 400 runs with an average of 57, which is higher than his overall T20I average of 51. Additionally, his strike rate increases from 138 to 161 when he opens the batting in T20 matches. Kohli’s only T20I century, which is also the highest individual score by an Indian in the format, came while opening the batting against Afghanistan in the Asia Cup 2022.

The other players who are certain to be picked are captain Rohit Sharma, top T20 batsman Suryakumar Yadav, fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah, all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant, pacers Arshdeep Singh and Mohammed Siraj, and spinner Kuldeep Yadav. If they are healthy, these 10 players will travel to the USA and the Caribbean. Nine of them are expected to start in the playing XI.

Either Arshdeep Singh or Mohammed Siraj might not play to allow the team to include an extra spinner, depending on the playing conditions in the USA and the Caribbean. It’s known that Siraj is being given a break by his team, RCB because he has been playing a lot and needs to manage his workload.

T20 World Cup Squad

Shubman Gill Vs Jaiswal

Let’s talk about the remaining spots on the team where multiple players are competing. Rishabh Pant has secured his place as the main wicketkeeper due to his strong performances both as a batter and a keeper for the Delhi Capitals. But since the World Cup will be held overseas, the team will have a backup keeper.

The contenders for the backup keeper position are Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Sanju Samson, and Jitesh Sharma. Kishan and Rahul have never batted in the middle order in T20s. Jitesh Sharma would be a good fit for the role, but his IPL 2024 form has not been great. Sanju Samson, although he bats at No. 3 for Rajasthan Royals, has experience batting in the middle order. His excellent form this year makes him the top choice for the second keeper’s spot.

Only three out of Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rinku Singh, and Shivam Dube will be chosen for the squad. If Kohli opens the batting, both Rinku and Dube will probably be selected. For the backup spinner spot, there is a close competition between Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, and Ravi Bishnoi. Axar Patel’s ability to bat gives him an advantage. The possible squad of 20 players (15 main players and 5 standbys) includes,

Specialist Batters (6): Rohit Sharma, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rinku Singh. All-Rounders (4): Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube, Axar Patel.

Specialist Spinners (3): Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi. Wicketkeeper-Batters (3): Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul, Sanju Samson. Pacers (4): Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Also Read: T20 World Cup: Virat Kohli Wants Clarity on his T20 World Cup Spot, But Selectors For “Open With Rohit Sharma”. See Details…

I am Varshini, an Information Technology graduate with expertise in creating content that brings a lot of knowledge related to lifestyle. My articles cover topics such as fashion, beauty, technology, education, and travel, reflecting my enthusiasm for providing interesting and helpful information. In addition to my passion for writing, I enjoy watching movies, listening to music, and traveling. I am also interested in gaining knowledge about the new trends. You can view my social media profiles here.

Most Popular